What is Dry Shampoo?

Dry Shampoo has been coming into vogue over the last year, and now so many of us can’t live without it. You may have seen it in your local drug store in a pressurized can. It sprays into your hair as a white powder that is intended to absorb oil. But, the cans are not very zero-waste friendly, the powder tends to make your hair look ashy and it’s very hit and miss as far as which shampoos actually absorb oil and which ones make your hair even more oily.

So here’s the part where I tell you why my product is the best thing ever, right?

Well it is! I spent about a year trying different dry shampoos and researching the best ingredients to use in my own. I then spent a few weeks testing it out on myself to make sure it was the best thing ever.

So here are the ingredients I use, and here is why my dry shampoo is the best thing ever:

1.) I package it as a dry powder in a recyclable paperboard tube. Eco win!

2.) I use illite clay, a fancy, super fine clay that is silky to the touch, and available in so many natural shades. Not only does it absorb oil without clogging your pores, but the different shades allow me to offer my dry shampoo in three shades: blonde, brunette and red. There are light and dark tinted dry shampoos on the market, but not much available for my fierce, fabulous red heads.

Screen Shot 2016-08-17 at 9.30.12 AM

3.) I use bentonite clay as a base. Bentonite is so great for absorbing oils, rejuvenating tired skin, and fighting acne-causing bacteria. If your scalp tends to break out, the bentonite clay in my dry shampoo could help you out. It’s also super fine, so its soft to the touch and won’t clog your pores.

4.) I use a Tea Tree & Lavender Essential Oil blend. It smells so fresh and beautiful; no one will ever know you didn’t wash your hair. Tea Tree is a natural antiseptic, antibacterial and astringent, so it helps to keep your scalp clean. I use a very small amount of both essential oils to help avoid scalp irritation.

5.) I use some crazy herbal extract to improve hair and scalp health. I use horsetail powder. Horsetail powder is known for healing irritated skin, promoted overall skin health, and reducing inflammation. There are some that believe that horsetail powder promotes hair growth as well, but I really think that healthy scalp = healthy hair = stronger hair. I don’t really think that horsetail can significantly reduce thinning or baldness.

6.) Last but not least, I use arrowroot powder. This powder is so super fine and acts as a deodorizer for your scalp. It also absorbs oils and adds a silky texture to my Dry Shampoo.

Screen Shot 2016-08-17 at 9.35.13 AM

Okay, that’s great, but how do you use a powder dry shampoo? It’s so easy. Just rotate the top to open, and shake a little powder directly onto your scalp. Work in sections, like you would if you were dying your roots. I usually sprinkle it into my roots across my entire head first, then I work it in with my fingers (almost like I would if I were scrubbing my hair in the shower). I’ll run a comb through it and spray the ends with a little Coconut Sea Salt Spray for texture. I have found that my Dry Shampoo works best if I load it on the night before and really work it in, then put my hair up and let it really absorb into my scalp overnight. The next morning I comb it out and add in my Sea Salt Spray. Either way works, but the more time it has to absorb oil, the better it will work. If you plan to go a few days without washing, get into the habit of using it at night for best results.

Screen Shot 2016-08-17 at 9.34.28 AM

I have very fine hair, so I also want to note that by day 3 and 4, the texture of my hair feels very different. It’s thicker, has a LOT of volume and the natural oils create some really cool dimensions to my color. If you have coarse hair already, you may want to use it in conjunction with a leave-in conditioner, flat iron, or alternate washing your hair and using the dry shampoo every other day.

There you have it, all the secrets of my dry shampoo! If you have your own dry shampoo secrets, send me pics on instagram, or email me your tricks!

Love,
Savannah

One thought on “What is Dry Shampoo?

Leave a Reply

