Kaolin + Flax Clay Mask

Today I want to talk about my brand new Kaolin + Flax Clay Mask, why it’s replacing the Cucumber Mask, and why it’s generally awesome.

When it comes to skin care, specifically facial care, easy does it. The skin on your face is much more delicate and much thinner than the skin on the rest of your body. Based on my research, I’ve started to hold the position over the last year that it’s really important to let your skin do its natural process. Skin is pre-programmed to grow and shed cells, and many of the beauty products and cosmetics on the market try a little to hard to stop or start this process. Maybe you have oily skin and you want to dry it out, or maybe you have dry skin that you want to add moisture to. Either way, using fake ingredients to replace the natural oils of your skin is not recommended.

With that in mind, I designed the Oasis Collection, which includes three skin care products made with natural, organic oils that compliment your skin’s natural voodoo instead of trying to manipulate it. For my Original Collection, I wanted to change up my skin care products so that they take this approach as well.

So, I decided to changed up the Cucumber Clay Mask. I wanted to remove the fragrance oil, as I don’t think it’s necessary in a skin care product. I also wanted to remove the Aloe Vera Powder, as I felt the concentration was unnecessarily high, and the ingredient has a wonky smell that made fragrance oil a necessity. Without Aloe Vera  Powder, there wouldn’t be any need for a fragrance oil.

I kept Kaolin Clay as my main ingredient because its effective on dry, oily or sensitive skin. Its super mild, with no toxicity to people or the environment. I like Kaolin because it does not draw the natural oil from your skin, so it can be effective as a cleanser and gentle exfoliant without over-drying your skin or taking away those precious oils that your skin is producing for its own health and balance. Kaolin is also useful in a face mask because of its stimulating properties – in other words, it helps to improve your skin’s circulation, which is helpful in aiding all the other processes your skin does for you naturally.

Flax is the power ingredient in this formula. While its mild, with no toxicity to people or the environment, it packs a healthy punch for your skin. High in Omega-3 and antioxidants, flax is super effective at providing essential fatty acids that your skin needs for balance. It’s also a very effective skin-conditioning agent – which means that it makes your skin soft and smooth. I use Flax oil in my Oasis products as well for the same reasons in a more concentrated dose.

Last, but certainly not least, I use Rhassoul Clay (sometimes called Moroccan Lava Clay). Mild, non-toxic to people and the environment, rhassoul is a great ingredient to help detox skin, because of the high levels of minerals, like magnesium, potassium and calcium, that are found naturally in the clay. To put it simply, Rhassoul gently draws out impurities in your skin.

So, there you have it. My new Kaolin + Flax Clay Mask is awesome because it gently cleanses and detoxes your skin without over-drying or irritating your skin. It doesn’t interfere with your skin’s natural ability to shed and grow new cells. It’s super easy to use, just add water!

Love,
Savannah

